Marcin Jedlinski have won first race

Marcin Jedlinski have won first race

The Polish pilot Marcin Jedlinski was the winner of the first ESET Sprint race at the Red Bull Ring. After start from the pole position he held the lead with his Audi R8 LMS from the first to the last lap. In the beginning Richard Chlad Jr. tried to attack him but Jedlinski built his advantage over him lap by lap. Chlad Jr. eventually had to fight off his rivals behind him.

Chlad´s  Audi R8 LMS was attacked by Josef Záruba with his new Lamborghini Huracan who finally overtook Chlad in the second half of the race. Likewise Denis Waszek, also with a Lamborghini Huracan, advanced to the third rank before Richard Chlad Jr., who finally ranked fourth. The top five was complemented with Jakub Knoll in a BMW M6 GT3.

The ESET SPRINT race was thus under full control of Marcin Jedlinski, who won over the second-ranking Záruba with a seventeen-second advantage. The third rank, with a minimum loss after Záruba, was occupied by Jedlinski´s countryman Waszek. Josef Záruba of the Mičánek Motorsport team at the same time won the GTC category, thus fixing his lead in the overall ranking.

The second victory in this season in the GT3 Trophy class belonged to Tomáš Erdelyi in his ageing model BMW Z4 GT3 representing the Šenkýř Motorsport team. The second rank in this classification was occupied by Lubomír Jakubík with Ferrari 458 and third was Gregor Zsigo in a BMW M6 Alpina of Racing Trevor team.

The class of sport prototypes D5 was dominated by the pilot of the Janík ACČR Czech Team Petr Lisa with his Norma M30 LMP3. The second rank belonged to his teammate Jiří Svoboda.

The race also included the class of popular passenger cars of TCR specification. The duels in that category were very balanced and differences counted tenths of a second. However, the winner of the race achieved an advantage of four and a half seconds: Milovan Vesnic in a Seat Cupra as a representative of the ASK Vesnic team. Jasmin Preisig and Václav Nimč Jr. enacted a duel for the second rank with the final difference between then mere six tenths of a second.

The winner of the ESET Sprint class 3500 was Radim Adámek in his BMW M3 E36 GTR of the Horňák-Aditis team.