First BMW, then Audi. The qualifying decided the starting grid for both sprint races

First BMW, then Audi. The qualifying decided the starting grid for both sprint races

Two consecutive qualifying sessions hinted at the distribution of power in the races on Sunday. The first qualifying session was won by American Neil Verhagen with BMW, while the second session was won by Czech driver Filip Salaquarda with Audi.

Under cold weather conditions but on a dry track, the first qualifying session started after the lunch break. The whole session was characterized by the gradual decrease in lap times, and ultimately the fastest lap time of 1:22.988 was set by BMW Junior factory driver, Neil Verhagen from the Racing Trevor team.

Beside the BMW M4 GT3, Filip Salaquarda will start with his Audi R8 LMS GT3. Behind them, from the second row, will start Libor Milota with Mercedes AMG GT3 and Jáchym Galáš with Lamborghini Super Tropheo, who also became the fastest man in the GTC category.

In the GTX category, Petr Lisa set the best time with his KTM X-Bow GTX, and in the GT4 category, last year’s formula champion Zénó Kovács was beaten by local driver Bastian Hein. Both of them will start on the BMW M4 GT4.

The second qualifying session was even faster, and Salaquarda set the absolute fastest time with a value of 1:22.655. Milota improved by over a second compared to the previous session, and other drivers also experienced similar performance jumps.

Mičánek Motorsport team, consisting of Jáchym Galáš and Matěj Pavlíček with Lamborghini Super Tropheo, will start from the second row in the second race. Gregor Zsigo will start from fifth place after taking over from Neil Verhagen.

In the GT4 category, Bastian Hein was the fastest this time, followed by Zénó Kovács. Pavel Sovička, who took over from Petr Lisa behind the wheel of the KTM X-BOX GTX, finished behind them. Sovička is still getting used to the new car, and the experienced Lisa is helping him with the adaptation.

Qualifying 1
Qualifying 2