ESET MMSR History – 2016

ESET MMSR History – 2016

In 2016 ESET MMSR allowed TCN2 cars for 2016 season, which had been previously used by prestigious series FIA ETCC or TCR. That led to splitting the TWC grid into two parts. The first one, called TWC1, consisted of slower cars like Renault Twingo Cup or Chevrolet Cruze Eurocup, while TWC2 races had faster Renault Clio Cup III, Renault Clio Cup IV and TCN2 cars.

That meant that TCN2 drivers had also a decent shot at winning the overall ESET MMSR championship. The main prize for 2016 winner was a sports scooter BMW C600 Sport with 647 ccm. Once again, there was a 25-minute long TV report on Czech TV stations Nova Sport 1 and Nova Sport 2 from every ESET MMSR event. The 2016 calendar consisted of seven events – Hungaroring, Red Bull Ring, Autodrom Most, Slovakia Ring, Grobnik, Automotodrom Brno and Poznan.

After a short break, it was Miro Konôpka who took the overall win in the 2016 season. Despite it was not easy as Jakub Knoll had emerged a strong competitor, Konôpka got used to his new Lamborghini Huracan very quickly. He clinched his third championship title after winning in front of his home crowd at Slovakia Ring and in the season finale at Poznan.

“We raced in so many series this year. Asian Le Mans Series, Blancpain Endurance Cup, ESET MMSR and also some testing. Such a busy year. All the guys said that we’ve never had such a busy season before. ESET MMSR has a really good level and it probably was much more difficult to win the championship than it looked like,” said now a three-time champion Miro Konôpka from Slovakia.

Konôpka might have become the overall winner and he had also won the endurance championship, he was beaten by Jakub Knoll with BMW Z4 GT3 in Sprint championship. Daniel Skalický became a champion once again in the -3.5 class.

In cup races, it was a brilliant debut for Pirmin Weixler, who dominated in Twingo Cup. The last year’s Twingo Cup winner Boštjan Avbelj had moved to Renault Clio Cup IV and he was unstoppable there. Wolfgang Kriegl won Cruz Cup in 2016, while Lukáš Uxa became a new champion of Clio III Cup.

ESET L21 Remus Formula saw more champions than ever before. Paul Brajnik in Formula 3, Andreas Estner in Formula 4, Petr Samek in Formula Renault, János Magyar in Formula Master and Václac Šafář in Formula Junior.

There had been seven events in the 2016 season which saw 154 drivers from 12 countries in total, which was 31 more than a year before.